Dunbar by Edward St. Aubyn

9781101904282

Dunbar is a retelling of William Shakespeare’s King Lear in modern times. It follows Dunbar as “King Lear” and how he is manipulated into a care home by his two eldest daughters Abby and Megan. They want to take over his global media corporation and will do anything to make that happen. Dunbar plans his escape and one of his daughters ends up finding him at the end.

I have not read King Lear but have heard it’s dark and most people’s favorite story. This novel would probably be more enjoyable if I had known the original story so I could compare and contrast. I found the characters not really developed and a lot of business talk that I was not interested in. There were certain scenes of sexual nature I didn’t enjoy as well. I fell asleep twice trying to read this.

Overall I give it 2.5 stars. I loved the dust jacket and art, the gold foiling is beautiful. If you like Shakespeare’s stories you may want to check this book out. I received this book from Blogging For Books for review.

Buy the book here 

Learn more about Edward St. Aubyn

Leave a comment